Active and retired members of the HLFPD and VFD gathered at Embers in Hauser and celebrated the accomplishments and service of the department at an awards banquet on May 7, 2023. This page shows individuals recognized.

Honorees: For Firefighter of the Year, Katie Hron; For Dedication & Devotion, Larry Shervanick; For Most Improved, Andrea Knorpp; and Community Award, Shane Kamps.

No banquet was held in 2020 or 2021 for the years 2019 and 2020. Most years, however, several awards are bestowed on deserving individuals. Sometimes new awards are created to match the extraordinary service of our volunteers. Here are the most recent honorees and miscellaneous awards given over the last few years.

At left, Andrea Knorpp was recognized for Most Improved, 2022

Shane Kamps receives the Community Award in May 2023
A new award was created for Shane Kamps, recognizing his extraordinary commitment to helping the Hauser Lake Community.
  • Firefighter of the Year: Katie Hron, 2022
  • Dedication & Devotion: Larry Shervanick, 2022
  • Community Service Award: Shane Kamps, 2022
  • Most Improved Award: Andrea Knorpp, 2022 and Vickie Shervanick, 2021
  • Leadership Award: Gary Mobbs, 2021
  • Camaraderie Awards: Kyle Andrews and Dave Strohte, 2021
  • Challenge Pin was awarded by Gary Mobbs to Shane Kamps, 2021
  • Rookie of the Year: Jared Cysewski, 2021; Shane Kamps, 2016
  • EMS instructors recognized by their appreciative students: Gary Mobbs and Shane Kamps, 2021

The following individuals have been recognized as Firefighter/EMT/Volunteer of the Year:

  • Katie Hron, 2022
    Shown here
  • Larry Shervanick, 2020 and 2021
  • Shane Kamps, 2018 and 2017
  • Nick Lundt, 2016
  • Alex Odom, 2015
  • Dan Bell, 2014
  • John Belanger, 2013
  • James Neils, 2012
  • Andy Boyle, 2011
  • Scott Weston, 2010
  • Nick Lundt, 2009 and 2006
  • Marc Kalbaugh, 2008
  • Ken Birge, 2007
  • Steve Hatfield, 2005
  • Steve Anderson, 2004
  • Ron “Fuzz” Meek, 2003
  • Ken Birge, 2002
  • Lisa Wendle, Volunteer of the Year, 2002

The Dedication and Devotion Award (D&D) was started in 2009 and has been awarded to the following members:

  • Larry Shervanick, 2022
    Shown here
  • Joan Rodman, 2021
  • John Belanger, 2019
  • Jody Mask, 2018
  • Jane Stoll, 2017
  • Werner Jahnsen, 2016
  • Gary Mobbs, 2015
  • Lisa Wendle, 2014 and 2009
  • John Mobbs, 2013
  • Myron Richardson, 2012 and 2011
  • Gary Mobbs, 2010
Active members in attendance May 7. Front: Dave Strohte (kneeling). Middle: Vickie Shervanick (red), Melissa Sullivan, Jeanne Hron, Shauna Strohte, Necia Shedin. Back: Daniel McDevitt, Jody Mask, Joan Rodman, Josh Katanik, Tom Maddalone, Gary Mobbs, Andrea Knorpp, Eric Hron, Katie Hron, Chief James Neils, Lisa Sellers, Larry Shervanick, Shaya Hall, Connie Lewis, John Belanger, James Lewis, William Neils, Shane Kamps (rear, right).
Retired members in attendance on May 7, 2023: Lisa Wendle, Elaine Simms, Leanne Carney, Jane Stoll, Carmen Miller. Middle/back: Larry Simms, John Mobbs, John Neils, Ryan Miller, Myron Richardson, Bill Moore.

Page updated May 12, 2023

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: